Peanut Butter-Chocolate Chip Cookies

This actually occurred last night, but I figured one blog post a day is enough.

I wanted to make cookies for my work (this is at my current part time job; still looking for that elusive full timer!)  So being the resourceful scrounger that I am, I looked around my house for things I could use and keep my shopping bill down to a minimum.  Two of my roommates have already moved out and left all the food they didn’t want in my care, which includes most of the baking goods and spices.  So as the weeks towards my own move-out tick down, I do what any reasonable ex-college student would do: see how much of the food in the house I can use up.  I should just re-purpose this blog into one written for people moving out and trying to be creative with the bits and pieces they have left.  Or poor college students.

So, based on the things I had in the fridge/pantry, I decided to make peanut butter chocolate chip cookies.  As it turned out, I didn’t need to buy any of the ingredients (thank you, ex-roomies!).  Awesome.  I used this recipe from the blog How Sweet It Is.  She is an excellent blogger, funny and passionate about what she does and I want to be her friend.  But she doesn’t like veggies, which makes me sad, because I love veggies.  I think it’s years of being forced to eat them by my mother until I finally surrendered and acknowledged that veggies are, in fact, delicious.

I followed the recipe step by step, with a few exceptions.  I didn’t have any salted butter, just some creamy unsalted butter (Doesn’t “un” infer that the butter was salted at some point, but then the salt was taken away?  So shouldn’t it be “non-salted butter”?  Maybe I’m just being a picky English major.).  I also only had enough vanilla extract for one teaspoon, not two.  As it was 8:30 PM when I decided to make the cookies, I decided just to go ahead.  I was almost too lazy to separate the egg white from the yolk, but I figured since I played around with two other ingredients, I shouldn’t risk altering the cookie too much.

They turned out OK (well, I’ve never made them before so I can’t say they taste better or worse than previous attempts), and I think they taste fine, considering that some of my ingredients were of questionable age and freshness.  Don’t worry, I checked them and ate the cookies myself with no side effects, so I’m not going to poison my office.  Hey, I didn’t say that all of the stuff left in the house was new.  I’m just a poor graduate, remember?  I’ll take what I can get.  But people at work LOVED them, so it’s all good!

You might have noticed that some of my cookies were more “rough” looking, and some looked more like smooth snickerdoodles.  I had rolled the dough in between my palms for my second batch, resulting in the smoother cookies.  They tasted the same.  I can see these being really cute mini-cookie bites at a party.  Also, my cookies are smaller than than those found on the recipe blog, but that’s probably because I made them small on the side of caution.  Besides, small cookies are easier to eat.  Less guilt when you munch on a couple ;)

So that’s another new recipe I tried out.  Let’s see what else I can make with the remaining food…Something involving jam, I think.  I’ve got some sweet (har har, no pun intended) raspberry preserves…

3 thoughts on “Peanut Butter-Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: Glad for SAD | Ventures and Variations

  2. Pingback: Mac & Cheese | Ventures and Variations

Leave a Reply

