The Paleo Diet

It’s been a while, hasn’t it?  It’s been 5 days since I last posted and I already felt sad and empty.

I spent a restful weekend with my cousin and her hubby (Cousin-in-law sounds too formal; can I call him “cubby” for short?) and their two cats.  I indulged in my inner fangirl and went to the J-Pop Summit Festival in San Francisco’s J-Town.  No, I didn’t dress up (though I have a cousin who is pretty excellent at making her own costumes for events such as these) but it was fun to watch all the festival-goers who had on their outfits and wigs on.  Mostly I just noshed on delicious food from the food trucks like Chairman Bao (their pork sandwiches melt in your mouth!) and Onigilly. And squealed at the overabundance of super cute things for sale.

My cousin and cubby are on the Paleo diet, wherein one tries to emulate the diet and exercise lifestyle of our ancient ancestors.  I won’t go into the fine details, especially since I’m sure I’ll miss some vital points and misrepresent the whole cause, but I did learn what you can and can’t eat, which includes eating food that’s natural and developed prior to agricultural revolution.  I totally agree with the first part; putting strange chemicals whose names you can’t pronounce in your body never sounds like a great idea.  But nothing post-agricultural revolution?  That means NO BREAD (i.e. today’s wheat products are a result of the revolution in mass production/processing/marketing of wheat) ?  Oh hellz no.

I have had a long love affair with starch, and I don’t think the passion will die anytime soon.  I love it all; baguette, ciabatta, naan, croissant; the smell and taste of freshly baked bread is heaven on earth.  I’ve been known to devour a whole loaf in one sitting (though it was a small loaf!)  My most favorite food in the entire world is noodles.  I could not live a life sans noodles.  It just wouldn’t work out.

I’m pretty sure if I was denied starch, I would probably be skinnier, but I also would have violent tendencies to hurt anyone I see eating starch.  So the Paleo Diet is a no-go for me.

But maybe it might work for you!  My cousin and cubby have both lost weight on it and say they feel less tired, less hungry (and therefore less inclined to munch on snacks during the day), and because the Paleo Diet also encompasses lifestyle choices as well (like using natural products around the house), they feel happy knowing they’re helping out the planet.

If I wasn’t such a starch-addict, I feel like this could be the one diet/lifestyle I could actually follow.

6 thoughts on “The Paleo Diet

  1. At first I read “chubby”! Haha! I’m glad we’ve made you so aware of this lifestyle, though. Paleo body care is always a nice place to start 😉 Although I don’t see myself using apple cider vinegar and baking soda on my hair anytime soon. This lifestyle is definitely difficult for carb lovers…especially when noodles are so delish! Ugh. But you get to eat awesome food with Paleo (BACON!) so I don’t know why I complain. By the way…zucchini spaghetti and kelp noodles (when warmed up) are actually pretty awesome…but you’re right, they just don’t replace the starchy goodness of noodles and bread. Although, you can always use almond meal or coconut flour as substitute – maybe try making your own noodles? I should look for recipes…

    Also, considering how thrilled you were at the prospect of buying “cute, little things”, you didn’t actually buy anything! Ramen does not count, dear.

    • Well, as much as I like cute things, I like having money even more, especially when I am only working part time. Don’t worry. The time will come when I will have a job and I will buy all the cute things I want! But in the meantime, ramen is a perfectly good (and so delicious!) substitute. And I don’t really care for bacon anyways, you know that 😉

  2. Pingback: The Biggest Night In Showbiz | Ventures and Variations

  3. Pingback: Part 1 of My Scandanavian Adventures | Ventures and Variations

  4. Pingback: Part 1 of My Scandinavian Adventures | Ventures and Variations

  5. Pingback: San Francisco & Pumpkin Cookies | Ventures and Variations

Leave a Reply

