Home Again

So I packed up my belongings, cleared my desk at work, and stuffed the rest of my junk in the car to go back home (or I guess I should say “my parents’ home”, since I’m a grown adult and no longer a dependent). I’ll spare you the details, but suffice to say it was really weird leaving a job that I’ve had since I was a wee college freshman, and even weirder to leave the house that I’ve lived in for the last three years and the town I’ve called my 2nd home.  It was a little bittersweet, but it’s time for a change of pace and a change of scenery.  I’m ready to move on!

Besides the big looming issue of being unemployed, finding places to stash all the stuff I brought home proved to be quite the challenge; I know I should probably get rid of all those Beanie Babies stashed in my closet, but I’m banking on those to become my retirement fund!  Just a few more years before I can cash them in…

Today is a short post mostly because I need a day or so to get reorganized and settle into the routine of an job hunter (search/apply for jobs, eat, sleep, clean the house- not necessarily in that order), but rest assured: this blog isn’t going anywhere.  I’ve got so many blog posts planned out in my head, but so little time to write them all!  And I don’t want to spam you with mini-essays every day.  If only I could write novels as prodigiously as I write blogposts, then I’d have a career made.  Assuming, of course, my novels are worth reading.

Coming up next: a night at the opera (I can wear my opera pearls!), volunteering at the yearly banquet thrown by the place I interned at last summer (let’s see how long my feet last in those heels), and my take on Anthony Bourdain’s “Things Everyone Should Know How To Cook”, which was a really great episode, except he seems to think everyone has a deep fryer in the kitchen…

Leave a Reply

