Wanderlust Strikes Again!

I’m not one of those wandering souls who feels most at home on the road.  I need a home to return to everyone once in a while, and a home for me isn’t on wheels.  I want something with a foundation and solid walls.  I can’t be traveling 24/7.

But that doesn’t mean I like sitting around at home either.   I am afflicted with wanderlust, so every so often, I have the desire to get out there and see the world.  It doesn’t always have to be overseas, it just has to be away from where I live.  Preferably out of state.  I’m a big believer in travel.  Horizons are expanded, friends are made, and you learn that this world is an enormously large place filled with the most exquisite sights and sounds you might never even dream about if all you do is stay in one place your whole life.

I’m off to China next week, a decision that is probably the most spontaneous travel decision I’ve done, since I only truly decided to go maybe a few days ago.  The only other semi-spontaneous trip I’ve gone on was Ireland earlier this year, but even that was planning a month or so in advance.  Granted, this trip isn’t completely spontaneous because my mom’s going there for work and invited me to come along, so I didn’t have to worry about the travel plans and all that.

But once I’m there, I’m sort of on my own.  She’s got work to do (obviously), so I’ll be left to my own devices (is that a good idea?).  Hopefully, I’ll be able to snag some interviews while I’m there, but if not, I guess I’ll go wandering China by myself.  Look for a post titled “The Time I Got Lost in China.”  Just kidding.  Hopefully I didn’t just jinx myself.  I do speak Mandarin, though not at a native fluency, and everyone speaks a little English now, so hopefully by using a combination of the two I won’t stray too far.

I’ll probably post at least 2-3 more times before I head out, but once I’m in China, I have no idea how often I’ll have the opportunity to blog (if WordPress isn’t banned by now).  I’ll be there for 2 weeks, so there will be plenty of opportunities for interesting blog posts, even though they might be posted when I return.

I’m on a roll!  Third time abroad in less than a year.  Wanderlust has definitely struck.

Leave a Reply

