Home For The Holidays

Things that have happened since the last time I blogged:

  • My mother and I attempted to cook lobster tails, and they turned out pretty darn well.  But be warned- lobster shells are pointy.  Ouch.
  • I was excused from jury duty for another year.  YES.
  • I saw a commercial for a DDR-esque game based solely on ABBA songs; not going to lie, I was super psyched.  Hardcore ABBA fan since the age of 10, right here.
  • I also saw a commercial for a Chia pet in the shape of Obama’s head.  I was not excited about this.  I was mildly frightened.
  • My family bought a Christmas tree and it’s now sitting in the living room, waiting to be decorated.

For me, the holidays haven’t truly started until the tree has been brought home, filling the house with its delicate pine scent, helping me pretend that I live in a place where it snows on a regular basis and I’m surrounded by aspens and bristle cones, not eucalyptuses and palms.  But for the first time in four years, the holidays seem to have crept up on me without me noticing (not necessarily a bad thing; I’ve gotten plenty tired of incessant Christmas commercials and carols before).  Before, I would always have finals the days before my winter break began, so coming home was like a breath of fresh air, untainted with the prospect of writing yet another paper at 5 AM.  Since I live at home now, this same time period seems more like everyday life, and not a special occasion.  But that doesn’t mean the joy of the season is lost on me!  Heck no, I’m busting out my Christmas carols for my morning commute.

A Portion of my Christmas playlist, filled with old and new songs:

1. “Wish List” by Neon Trees (love this song, and I liked this group before “Animal” got spammed on the radio!)
2. “All I Want For Christmas Is You” by Mariah Carey
3. “Jingle Bell Rock” by Bobby Helms
4. “Christmas This Year” by TobyMac & Leigh Nash
5. “Sleigh Ride” by Los Straitjackets (a surfer’s Christmas jam)
6. “The Most Wonderful Time of The Year” by Adam Williams
7. “Stille Nacht” by The King’s Singers (one of my favorite acappella groups)
8.  “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen” by Barenaked Ladies and Sarah McLachlan
9. “Ding Dong! Merrily on High” by Chanticleer (another great acappella group)
10. “Last Christmas” by Jimmy Eat World (Sorry, Wham!, I like this version better.  This is hands down my favorite Christmas song.  Also, has anyone else noticed that the melodic line from their song “Drugs or Me” is interwoven )

Leave a Reply

