Being Sick Sucks

Of course as soon as I proudly boasted that I was Zumba-ing my way to a healthier body, I come down with a cold.  Of course.  Not a life-threatening illness that renders me unable to move, but annoying enough so that rocking out to my favorite high intensity salsa has me coughing out a lung and wimping out from “exhaustion.”  So this post is going to be all about me whining about how much being sick sucks (not that anyone needs to be told that.)

If you ever read my DC blog, you might remember that out of the 10 weeks I was there, my roommate and I took turns getting sick for 9 of those weeks.  It probably had something to do with the fact that our small room had recycled air full of viruses, the fact that I wasn’t used to living and commuting in a dense city like DC, and that I got a flu shot for the first (and only) time.  I was sick so often, I actually forgot what it was like to not be sick. I still feel bad for our other suitemates; they also got sick, but not nearly as much as my roommate and I did.  I wonder how many nights I kept them up as I wandered around the hallway, failing to smother my coughing…Sadly, having a common cold is not enough to justify me not going to work/class, but it’s a good enough excuse for me to put my exercise on a temporary hiatus.

I haven’t written a list of three in such a long time, so I figured today’s post could use a dose of 3:

3 Things Medical(ish) Things About Me:

  • I get really trippy dreams on cough syrup (when taken in legal dosage amounts; I’m not getting high in the bathroom, folks!) and have on occasion hallucinated. No joke. Once I dreamt/believed that there were invisible people on my bed out to get my dad.  Though I could not see them, I woke up and told my dad to get out of my room to safety.  He looked at me like I was crazy and told me to go back to sleep.
  • I had scarlet fever when I was really young.  Yeah, that disease that is pretty rare nowadays and has a vaccine?  Yeah.  I had it.  I’m pretty hardcore like that.
  • Though I’m not a narcoleptic, I find it rather easy to fall asleep whenever I like.  I have been known to fall asleep while walking, standing, in the middle of a conversation…but probably the most unique place I have fallen asleep was while I was getting my cavities filled at the dentist’s office.  Some people hate the dentist and the drills and poking associated with them, but having gone through braces and all the hoopla involved with them has made the dentist seem pretty tame by comparison. I found the dentist’s chair a pretty relaxing place to take a snooze…they later had to use mouth pieces to prop my mouth open when I slept so they could continue working!

 

Leave a Reply

