Super What?

I am not a sporty person, it’s true.  It’s a sad fact, considering that right now I’m in the prime of my life and my body should be in the best shape it will ever be.  (I’m so sorry, future self.)  Thus, I hardly ever watch sports on the TV, including the Super Bowl.  Blink at me in disbelief and shock if you’d like (much more preferable to stoning or tomato-throwing), it won’t change my general indifference to the world of televised sports. Besides the fact that personally the only sports I like are generally solo endeavors, I think part of the reason I don’t like watching sports, especially huge events like the Super Bowl, is that it’s become about everything but the sports.  Call me old-fashioned, but I can do without the expensive commercials and halftime show (that usually features a nip slip or a missed middle finger) and cheerleaders in skimpy outfits, thanks.  If I want to watch good sports, give me the Olympics.  What can be more thrilling than watching the best athletes in the world compete with the pressure of an entire nation on their shoulders? Not much else, my friends.

I actually correctly predicted the winner of the Super Bowl (well, I had a 50% chance of getting it right- so what?).  My basis of choosing the victor was not based on stats and history and whatever else people use to predict things like this, but on the theory that New York is part of New England, so New York winning is kinda like New England winning. Though I’m pretty sure the Patriots don’t think of it like that.  Also because New England always sounds too vague of a locale for me to really root for.

My mother just invested in a nice camera so maybe, just maybe, I will be able to abscond with it for a few shots and post some decent pictures on here.  At the very least, if I post about food, I’ll actually make it look appetizing.  Mmmm, food.

Leave a Reply

