Summer Plans

I wanted to wait before everything was officially settled before telling you about my summer plans- I’m going on a cruise through Scandinavia and Russia!  For roughly 2 weeks, I’ll be going through Denmark, Norway, Finland, Estonia, Germany, and Russia (and Amsterdam too, if you count flight transfers).  I’m super excited because I’ve never been to that part of the world before, so it’s a brand new place to explore and fall in love with.  But you know me- I love traveling, and even though it’s been less than a year since I was in China (I’ve got plenty of blog posts on that if you haven’t read them) I’m ready to go globe-trotting again.  Of course, I know I can’t compare with the true world travelers (like the people that drift around from place to place, not tied down by jobs or families, or the folks that hop on jets to go to business meetings), but I am extremely fortunate to have been afforded so many wonderful opportunities to broaden my horizons and see what’s out there.

In other news, I ate out FOUR nights in a row this last week and I am thoroughly disgusted with myself.  In my defense, it just happened that my dinner dates with various people all happened around the same time, and I did eat relatively healthily for half of those nights.  The other two…not so much.  But, I had the BEST grilled cheese ever.  Grilled cheese is one of those things that is very hard to mess up- if you mess up two pieces of toasted bread and melted cheese, you need to get yourself to a cooking class, ASAP.  But this grilled cheese was different.  Imagine this, and tell me you aren’t drooling by the end.  Two generously sized waffles (with some herbs worked in), hold 4 types of cheese, tomato slices, chunks of avocado, and-wait for it- ONION RINGS.  Freaking onion rings.  It was so many of my favorite things in a sandwich, I was amazed I hadn’t come up with it myself.

Since the cruise is less than 45 days away (and I’ve been eating like a pig), I am putting myself on a strict dietary and exercise regime to at least make sure I won’t become a roly-poly and get laughed at by all the athletic, fit Scandinavians.  (Yes, that is my impression of those people- they are all tall and handsome and ridiculously fit.)

Last night I went with a friend to see a street concert by Grouplove, and if you ever needed a song to kick start your summer, here it is.  (I saw them open for Two Door Cinema Club last year and they are one of very few opening acts that I’ve actually bothered to find out more about.)  Just makes me want to get up and dance like nobody’s watching (then again, I could care less if anybody watches me)

Leave a Reply

