Part 7 of My Scandinavian Adventures

I’ve been back home for almost 2 months, but I’m only just getting to the second to last stop of our trip- let’s just say that churning out posts quickly is not my forte.

Of all the cities, we spent the least amount of time in Stockholm. As such, we crammed in as much as we could, but we didn’t see any IKEA stores or ABBA merchandise (did you know that I’ve been a fan of ABBA since I was like 10 years old?). I was supremely disappointed, as those are two of my favorite Swedish things. Le sigh.

Nonetheless, going to the Nobel Prize Museum and the City Hall where they award said awards was pretty cool. The museum was quite small, but it had this really neat contraption that had a long conveyer belt on the ceiling with hanging pictures of every single Nobel Prize winner. It curved throughout the entirety of the building, and ever so slowly, the pictures would move a little, so that you could see-albeit for a brief moment- a picture and a name. And if you had really good eyesight (which I lack) you could see their year and what they won their prize for.

The City Hall could probably pass for a mid-level palace, with its beautiful structure and grand ballroom and the “Gold Room” which was entirely covered in gold (real, not painted) mosaic. New bucket list goal: get invited to the banquet that accompanies the prize ceremony. Since I don’t think I’ll be writing any award-winning novels anytime soon, I guess I’ll just have to chum up with super smart chemists and physicists.

Enjoy my IKEA and ABBA-less pictures; also missing are pictures of food, as my family only had about $6 USD in Swedish Krone on us, and that wasn’t enough to buy even an ice cream 😦 So, I can only pretend that I’ve eaten a real Swedish smorgasbord.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Part 7 of My Scandinavian Adventures

  1. All Scandinavian countries are super expensive. But since the money is used very effectively (they have probably the best social system in the world), people don’t complain about the high prices. I think that Oslo is the most expensive city in the world…
    Nice pictures! I like the big Dalarna horse!

    • Yes, every city we visited was very expensive (to us, anyways) but that area of the world consistently rates the highest in life expectancy and overall happiness, so I guess they’re doing something right! 🙂 Thanks for checking out my blog!

Leave a Reply

