In Anticipation of Thanksgiving…

Oh, holiday season, how I love and loathe you at the same time.  My feelings for you never change (though I’d like to think that I’ve matured and that gift-gifting has become more satisfying that gift-receiving) but my waistline definitely expands year after year.  It’s kind of like the ocean levels- it increases in such small increments so that in a short amount of time it’s not visible, but give it enough time and you’ll see the difference.  No, I am not equating my inability to stop stuffing my face with food with global warming, but I might be comparing my stomach to the ocean.  Maybe.

I’m writing this post now because I know for sure that I will not have the time or the desire to write one once tomorrow afternoon hits (which marks the beginning of Thanksgiving preparations.)

I thought it used to be that the day after Thanksgiving was the unofficial beginning to the Christmas season, but I started seeing holiday commercials before Halloween, so I guess it’s just going to be Christmas all year round from now on.  I’ve learned to tune out Christmas ads, but I am doing really good this year and have almost finished purchasing gifts for everyone on my list!  No more will I have last minute panic attacks, scrambling to think of a creative/useful gift, circling for parking spots, fighting through crowds or waiting in tremendous lines.  And Black Friday never appealed to me- I will pick sleep and sanity over long lines and half-crazed crowds any day.

You can read my post last year about my favorite part about Thanksgiving- but I will add onto this year’s post that I’m extra thankful to those of you who have stuck around with this blog since the beginning and humored my many observations about it like “oh, I just blogged about it- have you read it?”   Yeah, I can be annoying like that sometimes.  Extra love to those of you who tolerate my badgering on a regular basis ❤  But if you’re a new reader, no worries- I love and appreciate you too.  Thanks for stopping by!  🙂

Leave a Reply

