2012 In Review

2012 was a pretty good year for me. It wasn’t all sunshine and rainbows, but without the bad, how can we appreciate the good? I’m going to stick with my format from last year’s New Year’s Eve post and talk about some of the most memorable things that have happened this year to me, in no particular order:

  • Traveled around the Baltic Sea region: If you didn’t read any of my posts on this summer’s cruise, you’re missing out! Go read them now. They’re all nicely labeled for you as “Part 1-8 Of My Scandinavian Adventures.” I visited seven countries in two weeks: Germany, Russia, Norway, Sweden, Finland, Estonia, and Denmark. It was a trip of a lifetime, and each time I go abroad I am consistently reminded at how very large this world is, with so many wonderful sights to see. Time to start planning next year’s adventure…
  • Running: I never thought I could even run a mile without stopping, but my lovely friend convinced me I could do it, and you know what? I can do it! Sometimes all you need is someone who can yell at you believes in you to help you get over your reluctance/fear about something. Of course I run very slowly, but I’m not planning on breaking any speed records anytime soon.
  • Visiting w/ old friends: Kind of explanatory, this bullet. While it is rather nice having friends scattered across countries and continents being very accessible with Skype and email, there’s nothing more satisfying than actually being with them in person. No video chat can ever replace the warmth of a hug, or replicate that warm fuzzy feeling of being in the presence of good friends.
  • Live concerts: Saw some fantastic live performances this year, including two Korean pop groups whose concerts nearly reduced me to flood of teenage hysterical tears. Nearly. But not quite. I do have a little shred of dignity in me. Judge me if you like for loving my K-pop, but I have long since decided that there’s no use being embarrassed about who or what I like. My friends (the heavy majority of whom could care less about K-pop) have long since learned to just humor my fangirling moments and gamely show interest when I babble about upcoming concerts.
  • I adopted 2 cats: I try to rein in my love for cats when I’m on this blog but if you didn’t know already, I love cats. Love love love. I don’t dislike dogs, but I will always be a cat person. I will also probably become a crazy cat lady later in life. I’ve got two cats now- only eight more until the craziness is official! I won’t go on and on about my kittens, but they have settled in quite nicely with my family and I can’t imagine life without them. And I’m now done raving about my cats.

Wishing all of you and yours a wonderful New Year! Goodbye 2012, Hello 2013. I can’t wait to make you an amazing year; I’ve got a couple big changes that I want to make happen. Let’s do this.

Leave a Reply

