Free Music!

As you might have noticed, music is a huge part of my life (good thing I work with a lot of musicians then!) and I’m always on the lookout for new songs and sounds to add to my ever expanding library.  I wouldn’t say I’m a taste maker per say in that I’m not one of those super hip music blogs that discovers and introduces the latest and greatest in the music scene.  (Though I’m always hunting these sites down to pitch clients to.)  I suppose I could start posting songs that I’ve been enjoying recently, but only if you, my readers, want me to.  I’ve got a fair amount of followers now, so don’t be shy!  Comment!  Question!  (I know you read my blog, you sneaky readers you.  I won’t bite.)

Anyways, finding songs are great but it’s even better when I can add it to my listening library and own the actual MP3 (as I stated in a previous post, I’m actually kind of peculiar when it comes to owning/listening to songs.)  So when I find websites and podcasts that legally let me download songs for free (I love free stuff, you know that) it’s like I’ve uncovered a treasure chest of music.  There are of course tons of illegal sites that let you download lots of things for free, but stealing has never been my thing.  It’s one thing if the artist wants to give it for free- it’s an entirely different thing to steal.  When you rip a CD or a movie for free, you’re not just stealing from the artists themselves or the big brass way up at the top.  The janitor that tidies up the studios, the costume assistants that clothe all the extras, the artist that designs a CD jacket- you’re stealing from them too.  It’s easy to think that celebrities and wealthy bigwigs can let a $10 cd slide by, but when that happens over and over again, everyone gets hurt.  So kids, don’t illegally download stuff!

And that concludes my PSA for the week.

Anyways, I decided to collect a few sites that consistently have offered awesome music from both well known and indie artists and present them all for you in one easy spot!  I can’t say that I discovered all of these sites on my own, a big shout out to my friends who have steered me towards some of these sites.  (Also don’t forget to check iTunes for their weekly free songs, and if you have a LA county library card you can check their free music catalog!)

Amazon.com has an amazingly large amount of music samplers put out by different labels (but you’ll probably have to slog through a few pages before you find ones you like.)

Everyone’s favorite large indie music store Amoeba has tons of indie artist songs for download and you can bet that all of them are decent.  So does KEXP’s Song of the Day podcast (also on iTunes)- there’s a couple of good free song of the day podcasts if you just type it into iTunes search bar.

NPR All Songs Considered’s Tiny Desk Concerts and The Wild Honey Pie are two of my favorite places to discover and download incredible live performences (perhaps you may recall my glowing infatuation with Kishi Bashi)

Hype Machine also has an excellent music blog directory which will help you find all those awesome sites out there that showcase all those awesome indie artists with names like Octopus Eyes and She Writes In Cursive (I just made those band names up, but they sound very hip, don’t they?  You heard them from me first!)

Not having money shouldn’t be an answer to why you don’t acquire new music or feel the need to resort to illegally downloading.  Of course the current Top 40 stuff, the songs that play on the radio 24/7, will probably not be found for free anywhere (legally).  But there is so much wonderful free music out there- on blogs and artists’ websites and podcasts, if you search hard enough, I guarantee there will you discover some awesome tiny indie band whose music you can’t get enough of.  There’s something for everyone!  Not to say that Top 40 stuff is all bad- though I love my Renaissance choral music, I’m not too high and mighty to have a dance party to Swedish House Mafia.  Plus, I consume K-pop at a voracious speed so judging other pop music consumers is like the pot calling the kettle black.

Leave a Reply

