Changes

I promised some exciting news in my last post, and here I am, as promised!

I wanted to wait until I had everything settled, but now I can tell you with certainty that I have a new job!  Yes, I’m at a new company with a new position and although it was bittersweet to leave my old position and coworkers, I made the decision to move onwards and try something new.

I’m no longer doing PR, but still working with live entertainment, just now a little more behind the scenes in a management role that involves a lot of coordinating between my company and the events/venues we work with.  My current position is less creative than what I’ve done in the past (and sadly I am nowhere close to managing our social media sites, so I can’t tell people anymore that I go on Facebook and Twitter for work) but I’m not too sad- if anything, perhaps some of that creative energy will be transferred back into me and I’ll get fired up for some of my creative writing.

It’s a new chapter in my life and I’m excited to see where it takes me!  Also, start placing bets about where I’m going this summer!  Hint: it’s abroad, and it’s somewhere I’ve never been before.  If I already told you, you can’t say anything because that’s cheating.  On the down side, since I just started a new job I’ll be going into vacation debt (I booked the trip before I got the new position) so after this summer, the next time I’ll be going abroad for any significant amount of time will probably be 2015…oh well.  Small price to pay for this year’s trip!

On other news, I was belated with my thanks for Mother’s Day, so it’s only fitting that I be belated for my Father’s Day thanks as well.  I’m equal opportunity like that.

I unfortunately never knew one of my grandpas who died shortly after I was born, but I imagine I would get along famously with him as I love my grandma and if she loved him, then he’s OK in my book.  My other grandpa I’ve been lucky enough to have constantly in my life- whether it’s teaching me to drive or tutoring me tirelessly on math or being the hero of my elementary school class by bringing in goldfish as classroom pets, he’s always been there for me and I am thankful for every day that we get to spend together.

People have said (and I fully agree) that my dad and I are the same personality in two different bodies.  We went to the same college, both love and performed in musicals, and we like things that are very organized and take an effort to sort out (my thing is genealogy and family trees, he’s really into maps and topography).  Though I tend to think his jokes run a little more on the pun-ny side than mine.  Here’s an old email I found from a few years ago when I was in college and had a weird mysterious rash on my face (all verbatim):

Me: My co-worker took a look at my rash and said it definitely was hives.  I’m going to drop by the health center later but I wonder what gave them to me…the only time I got them was when I ate buffalo wings and that was on my body not my face.  WAHHHHHH it burnssssssss

Dad: Bee strong

Me: THATS NOT FUNNY.  I’M IN PAIN HERE!  Also, what do bees have anything to do with it?

Dad: Bee hives.

Me: THAT’S STILL NOT FUNNY.  It’s so not funny, I’m laughing.

Dad: Hope you feel better soon.  Love you.

Love you too, Dad.

2 thoughts on “Changes

Leave a Reply

